I’m Devyn.  I’m a mid-30s professional, a wife to a wonderful husband, and a Mummy to a beautiful little boy.  Here’s a quick Q and A about me and my family.

Q. Why are you starting a blog now?

A. This actually isn’t my first rodeo – I had an original Desperately Seeking Sustenance blog on the Blogger platform, but I posted very little and didn’t really enjoy the structure of Blogger.  So I’ve moved over here without bringing the old site with me.  Some posts I just don’t really think I want to see anymore, however, I acknowledge their existence and their general availability.  Mostly, I have a blog because I like to share.

Q. What do you do for a living?

A. I mostly think, research and write for whatever provincial government is in power.  I’m basically what’s (romantically?) termed a “policy wonk”.

Q. How long have you been married? How did you meet your husband?

A. We’ve been married seven years now.  We met in high school at an anti-racism leadership camp, dated on and off for a pretty long time, and got engaged when we were about 28.  He’s the very best.

Q. How old is your baby?

A. He’s two years old – born in July 2015.  He’s the other very best.

Q. Did you grow up in Toronto? What neighbourhood do you live in?

A. No, I was born here but moved to Oshawa, a suburb about 45 minutes east of Toronto, when I was very small.  My husband was born in Saskatchewan and moved to a neighbouring community when he was 10.  I moved to the Toronto proper at 25, as soon as I had a reasonably steady job, and I haven’t really ever looked back.  My family and I live on the east side of the city.

Q. I saw your photos.  Are you and your husband from different ethnic/cultural backgrounds?

A. I’m of European (British Isles) descent, and my husband’s family comes from India.  He’s Sikh and I’m Christian (Anglican, if you’d like to know).



Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: